top of page

Livia

It's been a while since I last blogged and a lot has happened in that time. I've spent the last few summer months seeing friends, family and doing a bit of UK exploring. One silver lining of the lockdown was the free time it brought individuals and of which this blog can be attributed too.


In the absence of blog writing I graduated (virtually) and am now a first class graduate in Ancient History and Classical Archaeology !! I was absolutely elated when I received my results and spent the day relaxing on the beach and prosseco for breakfast. After all it is a huge achievement to graduate and one I don't think I realised till it happened to me. It's taken 3 years, thousands of pounds and countless late nights in the library so whatever grade you achieved all graduates should feel so so proud!


I thought for this blog I'd look back at the historical figure of Livia, one who was not only extremely important for women in the ancient world but also personally for me as she was the subject of my dissertation of which made up an 1/8 of my entire degree. I could write a 10,000 word blog post (literally) but instead I'm gonna give a quick overview of this amazing woman.


Typically Livia is introduced as wife to Augustus - who was the first defacto emperor and mother to Tiberius who was the second emperor. She was born around 59BCE and died around 29CE - it is very impressive for a woman to live so long even outliving her husband. She remained a constant after Augustus' death and was treated as a political and social magnate that could not be ignored and exercised huge power and influence in a time when women weren't allowed to own property, vote or inherit possessions.


Livia didn't care about any of those laws restricting female freedom and being both the wife of one emperor and the mother of the next, nobody was going to complain . She became one of the wealthiest in Rome inheriting 300 million sesterces from her husband and went on to provide dowries across Rome, finance public works and became an ancient influencer - Eumachia's building at Pompeii is said to be a direct copy of one of Livia's at Rome.


Livia wined and dined foreign dignitaries and would often receive letters independent of the actual emperor Tibeirus, her authority was huge. Imagine Lady Tyrell in Game of Thrones, played by the late Diana Rigg, but even greater! Personal fall outs with her son Tiberius led to lack of deification which was finally completed by her grandson Emperor Claudius who largely did it to gain favour with the Roman plebs whom still had great affection for Livia.


Livia was a phenomenal woman, she bucked the traditional matrona role which restricted women to spinning wool, providing children and taking no political role. She is a feminist icon and I loved researching about her. If this sparked your interest you can read my entire dissertation here. (No pressure though even I would struggle nowadays).


Livia in marble found in Egypt/ Glyptotek Museum Copenhagen

 

20 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page